In Thanksgiving

 

Dear reader,

It’s been so long! I’m sorry I haven’t written a blog-post in well over a year! Well, here we are. But I was inspired to ‘put pen to paper’ this evening after a somewhat hectic, difficult day. I spent a lot of time dwelling on what went wrong, so I figured I’d done enough of that and it was time to count the day’s blessings in your company 🙂

Thanks be to God for:

  • time to make eggs for breakfast – always a treat
  • some brief but quality time with my 9th graders before homeroom (including lots of laughs about how my outfit had not one, not two, but three layers of scarfs – a fact I hadn’t realized myself but the girls pick up on all sorts of things!)
  • colleagues who pulled together in a tight situation
  • two students who, in asking for permission to do something, demonstrated some serious responsibility, maturity, and sound judgment
  • lunchtime with the senior girls
  • a chance to pull a student aside and tell her how grateful I am to be teaching her
  • watching my AP Latin students make their way through the Aeneid more smoothly, masterfully, and confidently each day
  • recalling, alongside one of my 8th graders, the difference between the point-slope, slope-intercept, and standard forms of the equation of a line
  • the providential resolution of a small but meaningful request from a student
  • a friendly and polite Chick-fil-A employee
  • Skyping with my parents
  • a bit of guitar to wind down at the end of the day
  • so many other graces!

In fact, now that I look over this list, the words ‘hectic’ and ‘difficult’ don’t seem like suitable labels for the day! On the contrary, by the looks of things from this ‘thanksgiving’ perspective, today was an overall win 🙂

God bless you, dear reader!
Paula

 

One comment on “In Thanksgiving

  1. oara27 says:

    Sounds to me like it actually was a great day! A couple of not so straightforward issues to solve along the way, but “endes gut, alles gut”. Totally right to be thankful for all the problems solved and the good things that happend in between.

Leave a comment