Perfect

Dear reader,

It’s a Friday afternoon, another week of teaching has gone by, and I just need to share. (Thank you in advance for letting me share.)

“I remember a girls’ night with our missionary friends on a cool, clear evening in Soddo. We were playing games and talking, and at one point everyone was asked: ‘What has living in Ethiopia taught you?’ My answer then was: ‘I’m not perfect.'”

Living in Ethiopia was a real eye-opener, a masterclass in learning about my imperfections. No wonder most of my blog posts from that missionary year are about self-improvement.

But do you know what else has taught me that I’m not perfect?

Teaching. Every single hour in the classroom teaches me that I’m not perfect.

Maybe I’m at a stage in life where the big lesson is: “Become aware of your deficiencies.” “Become REALLY aware of your deficiencies.” “ALL OF THEM.”

Deficiencies

 

Maybe this is just a standard part of the growing-up process.

Strangely, my ever-increasing recognition of my inadequacy (and inadequacies) doesn’t stop me from teaching. It doesn’t stop me from loving, loving, teaching. It doesn’t stop me from wanting to do everything, everything, I possibly can to serve my students. On the contrary: even when I’m feeling particularly disheartened, the first thing I do when I leave the classroom is write up my ideas for how to make the next class more successful.

 

I’m not perfect.

 

But I want to be.

 

Until next time, reader, and thank you for reading.

Yours,
Paula

 

2016-03-04-533[1]

2 comments on “Perfect

  1. oara27 says:

    I agree with Fr. Mike!

  2. Fr. Mike says:

    Dear Paula, it’s a blessing to be aware of one’s deficiencies–so long as one doesn’t let those overwhelm. Yes, strive to improve. And let your own shortcomings make you compassionate toward others. All of which you’re working at! Brava! God bless you.

Leave a comment